Europe Day Concert 2024 -Listen Online

Royal Academy of Music

On Thursday 9 May, the European Parliament Liaison Office, the European Commission Representation and the Belgian Presidency of the Council of the EU, in cooperation with the Royal Irish Academy of Music organised a concert of young musicians to celebrate Europe Day.

The concert took place at the recently opened Whyte Recital Hall at the Royal Irish Academy of Music in Dublin and was broadcast live by RTÉ Lyric with Paul Herriott presenting.

Musicians from Ireland’s oldest conservatoire presented a captivating programme of music highlighting works from the European canon. In addition, the concert provided an opportunity to mark the 20th Anniversary of the historic enlargement of the EU by including music from some of the countries that joined the EU in 2004. For this special occasion, students from the Academy were joined by students from Belgium, current holder of the rotating Presidency of the Council of the EU.

You can listen back to the concert here


Prelude from English Suite No 2 in A Minor, BWV 807
Sulamita Pyvovar (piano), RIAM

Presto from Violin Sonata Op 112
Mel Bonis
Martina Rosaria O’Connell (flute), David Vesey(piano), RIAM

Liebesbotschaft Gretchen am Spinnrade
David Kennedy (Baritone), Eva Kavanagh (Soprano), Dearbhla Collins (Piano)

Romance, Op 78 No 2
Jisun Min (Violin), Adam Collins (Piano)

Zart und mit Ausdruck from Fantasiestücke, Op 73
Robert Schumann
Adam Buttimer (Tuba), Dearbhla Brosnan (Piano)

Andante from Piano Trio No 1 in G minor Ava Trio
Zoé Masset (PIano), Nathan Seys (Violin), Victor Combe (Violin)

Nocturne from 3 Poèmes
Aimee Banks (Soprano), Zoé Masset (Piano), Nathan Seys (Violin), Isabel Dhallé (Violin), Bruna Sousa (Violin), Victor Combe (Violin)

Étude in C sharp minor, Op 10 No 4
Defne Gultoprak (Piano+

‘The Stolen Child’
Ina Boyle
Aimee Banks (Soprano). Dearbhla Collins (Piano)

‘Oh men from the fields’
Herbert Hughes
David Kennedy (Baritone), Dearbhla Collins (Piano)

‘Vaga luna che inargenti’
Seán Tester (Tenor), Dearbhla Collins (Belgium)

Hungarian Rhapsody
Andrés Vaccaro (Cello), Dearbhla Brosnan

European Anthem
RIAM, Le Conservatoire royal de Liège, the Royal Conservatoire of Antwerp