European Elections 2024

European elections: what they are and how they work

Every five years EU citizens choose who represents them in the European Parliament, the directly-elected institution that defends their interests in the EU decision-making process. The next European elections will take place across the EU on 6-9 June 2024 and in Ireland on 7 June 2024.

The European Parliament is the only directly elected EU institution and enjoys rights as co-legislator on most areas of EU activity.  Members of the European Parliament are elected every five years to represent the interests of citizens in all EU Member States.  The European Parliament currently has 705 members (MEPs).  This number will increase to 720 members for the next legislative term, with the 15 additional seats divided between 12 countries, including Ireland.

Together with the Council, representing the governments of EU member states, MEPs shape and decide on new laws that influence all aspects of daily lives across the European Union, from supporting the economy and the fight against poverty to climate change and security.

MEPs put important political, economic and social topics in the spotlight and uphold the values of the European Union: respect for human rights, freedom, democracy, equality and the rule of law.

Parliament approves the EU budget and scrutinises how the money is spent. It also elects the President of the European Commission, appoints its Commissioners and holds them to account.

Find out more about European elections here

Ireland’s current MEPs

Ireland currently has 13 MEPs. Of these, Frances Fitzgerald, Fine Gael MEP for Dublin, Deirdre Clune, Fine Gael MEP for Ireland South and Colm Markey, Fine Gael MEP for Midlands-North-West  have confirmed that they will not be contesting the forthcoming European elections.

An additional MEP for Ireland

Due to demographic changes, Ireland will gain one additional MEP, bringing the number of MEPs to be elected this year to 14. The additional seat has been allocated to the Midlands-North-West constituency. This means in the upcoming Elections, the constituencies of Ireland South and Midlands-North-West will have five seats each, and the Dublin constituency will have four seats.

New constituency boundaries

With the extra seat allocated to Ireland, the Electoral Commission recommended to the Oireachtas in its boundary review the transfer of counties Laois and Offaly from the South constituency to the Midlands-North-West constituency.

Voter Registration

To be eligible to vote a person must be 18 years of age or over on or before polling day and be ordinarily resident in the constituency in which they wish to vote. They must also be included on the Register of Electors.  Relevant application forms are available at In order to vote in the European elections, completed applications must be received by the registration authority for the area in which a person resides by Monday, 20 May 2024.

Remind me to vote

The “Remind me to vote” feature on the elections website lets people sign up to get a reminder before the elections, with practical information that will make voting easier than ever. All they have to do is provide their e-mail address to which they would like to receive the reminder and the country they will be voting in.   Share this link right now with family and friends.


Candidates nominated to stand in the constituency of Dublin

Candidates nominated to stand in the constituency of Midlands-North-West

Standing for election

Completed nomination papers may be delivered to the returning officer for the constituency in person until 12 noon on Tuesday, 30 April 2024 for Irish citizens, and until 12 noon on Monday 22 April 2024 for other EU nationals. Forms of nomination papers, statutory declarations, and replacement candidates lists may be obtained, free of charge, here. Details of the returning officers for the three constituencies are as follows

Constituency: Dublin

Fergus J. Gallagher (Returning Officer)
Unit 17
Tolka Valley Business Park
Ballyboggan Road
Dublin 11, D11 WK27
Telephone: 01 8306785

Constituency: Midlands-North-West

Marian Chambers Higgins (Returning Officer)
The Courthouse
Wood Quay
Telephone: 091 511500 / 085 1957715

Constituency: South

Martin A. Harvey (Returning Officer)
33, Washington Street,
Cork. T12 E22D
Telephone: 021 4271787












European Elections 2024